I am back! So, while I was away…

It has been so cold in here not to mention the loud echo produced by the silence that covered every corner of my blog for slightly over one year. Saying that I missed you my reader is an understatement.
So while I was away, the best happened- I became a mum (wapi nduruuuuuu!!!) you can now call me Mama Jabali. Jabali is my rainbow baby, my little piece of heaven and a perfect piece of art from God himself. Jabali is my heart that is literary beating out of my body. The whole experience and process of giving life was quite an enjoyable one. The fear of the previous ordeal kept creeping in my mind but I developed maintained and sustained great friendship with positive thinking, prayers, my husband and my gynecologist. Jabali will be exactly six months today the 18th of November and I can’t wait to treat him to the most delicious mama made malenge and uji to welcome him to the world of eating real food like a real man from the land of mulembe!


While I was away, Mama Margaret Kenyatta was awarded the Prestigious UN person of the year 2014 for her work in improving maternal and child health through her Beyond Zero Campaign. This is a well-deserved recognition for which I congratulate her. I admire her consistency and genuine concern on issues maternal and children health. She made history for not only being the first ever first lady to be awarded as the UN person of the year but also the first ever first lady to run a marathon. Congratulations Ma’am, I cheered you on chini ya mae and yes, no woman should die giving life!!

NOV First Lady Margaret Kenyatta diplaying her award 2014
First Lady displaying her award

While I was away, 15 Governors from Garissa, Homa Bay, Isiolo, Kakamega, Kisumu, Lamu, Mandera, Marsabit, Migori, Nairobi, Nakuru, Siaya, Taita-Tavet, Turkana and Wajir counties which are considered to have a high maternal deaths convened and signed a communiqué to end maternal deaths and improve the well-being, protection and health of adolescent girls. This meeting that was organized by UNFPA saw the convergence of a range of all important stakeholders in advancing maternal health in Kenya. Hope that as a result of the meeting the wide inequity and inequality gap is being tackled and thus contribute to reversing maternal deaths.

While I was away, the race towards the Millennium Development Goals came to an end and we ushered in the sustainable development goals. Sadly, Kenya underachieved in MDG 4 and MDG 5.

While I was away countries had the opportunity to adopt the new sustainable development goals. There are 17 goals in SDGs and each goal has specific targets to be achieved over the next 15 years. For example, goal 3 seeks to ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages. Some of the specific targets in goal 3 that are closer to my heart include:
1. By 2030, reduce the global maternal mortality ratio to less than 70 per 100,000 live births
2. By 2030, end preventable deaths of newborns and children under 5 years of age, with all countries aiming to reduce neonatal mortality to at least as low as 12 per 1,000 live births and under-5 mortality to at least as low as 25 per 1,000 live births
For the goals to be reached, everyone needs to do their part be it governments, the private sector, civil society and people like you and I. So help us God!
I am back and I still insist mothers must survive childbirth and children must have a safe and healthy start to life to attain sustainable development goals…Yes, ‘no woman should die giving life’.

NOV WELCOME.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mondester Nyaboke says:

    Welcome back. Congratulations mama Jabali. God bless.

Leave a Reply

