Polio drop, the perfect mother’s day gift to your under 5 child!

Last year a day like today, I was a mom in waiting. I marked mother’s day carrying my son, my little sunshine, my honeybunch. This year’s Mother’s day, which will be celebrated this Sunday 11th May, would have been my first ever mother’s day as a real mom and to be honest, the thought of being a mom gave me so much joy. It was God’s favour to have been among the women He blessed with the gift of the womb to ‘help’ Him in creation. But placenta abruption that occurred on 14th June 2013 robbed me off this joy this means I will be celebrating this mother’s day minus my little sunshine.

Baby could have been 8 months 2 weeks today and a site I have subscribed to was not late to inform me about his development – I receive this information every week though my baby is no morel I couldn’t deactivate from the service because this helps me stay sober. So this week, this was the information that was sent to me.

Hello, Lourdes! Your baby is 8 months 2 weeks old. He is starting to grasp what it means when someone can no longer be seen, the result of a growing understanding of what’s called object permanence. An exciting demonstration of this comes the first time your baby tries to imitate a goodbye wave by twisting a wrist or flapping a hand. Not all 8-month-olds can wave bye-bye, but it’s a fun new feat to anticipate. It takes a certain amount of fine-motor coordination to wave in the style of the Queen (or Mom and Dad).

I smiled amid tears and tried to envisage how strong and active this boy from Khwisero could have been considering the way he kicked hard especially when I sang Shania Twain’s ‘From this moment’.

As I was walking to my place of work this morning to do the duties that pay my bills, I was thinking of the perfect gift that I could have given that little man this mother’s day and I did got a suggestion which I want to request you my reader this mother’s day. You probably have a child who is under five. Definitely this child cannot buy you chocolate, cards, flowers or any gifts – he/ she maybe does not even know if such a day exists. But darling, you can do something for that baby that you love so much this mother’s day- please have him / her get the polio drop. This is not an expensive gift but it is priceless as it equals life.

Mother’s day is marked annually on the 2nd Sunday of May. It celebrates motherhood and it is a time to appreciate mothers and mother figures. Many people give gifts, cards, flowers, candy, and a meal in a restaurant or other treats to their mother and mother figures, including grandmothers, great-grandmothers, stepmothers, and foster mothers. But giving your children a gift on mother’s day is not a bad idea is it?

MOTHERS DAY OK

Starting tomorrow, Saturday 10th to Wednesday 14th May 2014, another round of polio vaccine will be administered to children under the age of 5 in 25 high risk counties in the country. Since Mother’s day is marked as a way of honoring the sacrifices mothers made for their children, make a sacrifice to mark it with by having your little sunshine vaccinated.

The 25 selected high-risk counties where the campaign will be carried out are: Baringo, Bungoma, Busia, Elgeyo Marakwet, Garissa and Refugee camps, Homabay, Isiolo, Kakamega, Kilifi, Kisii, Kisumu, Kwale, Lamu, Mandera, Marsabit, Migori, Mombasa, Nairobi, Siaya, Tana River, Trans Nzoia, Turkana and Kakuma Refugee camp, Vihiga, Wajir and West pokot.

In a nut shell, Polio is an infectious disease that has no cure. It invades the nervous system and can cause irreversible paralysis and even death. It is highly infectious, and can have debilitating impacts. While it can strike anyone, at any age, the disease mainly affects children under five years old.

A child receiving the drop of life
A child receiving the drop of life

You may say that your child had already been vaccinated fine; in fact you are very right but remember, polio virus knows no boarders and carriers frequently move from one country to another. Therefore, as long as a single child remains infected, children in all high risk countries are at risk of contracting polio.

Don’t let your child be statistic have him/ her vaccinated when the health workers come to your neighbourhood or simply walk to a health facility for your child to receive this drop of life.

Before I sign off, I wish my precious mother, Mrs. Electine Walusala, who has always been near to guide my way and light my day, a very happy mother’s day. And to my mother in-law, Mrs. Leonidah Atamba, thank you for giving birth to my husband, thank you for all the sacrifices you made to raise him into a man of integrity and honour- happy mother’s day my mummies!

And to all you mothers and mothers in waiting, HAVE A GLORIOUS MOTHER’S DAY!!!

By the way, did you know that more phone calls are made on mother’s day than any other day of the year all over the world? Ok, now you definitely know!

 

Leave a Reply

